comfy

the ultimate goal for most of us is to be ourselves, free from the strings of social codes.  however, this is not the case all the time.  first rendezvous is one of them.  for instance, i learned from past interview experiences several years ago that i couldn’t totally be myself in front of my prospective employer.  otherwise, he or she would deem me as to “loose” or carefree.  moreover, it is a no-no to tell everything on your first date.  on a side note, someone reminded me that others tend to take advantage of us if we put up a first impression of always putting our guard down.  

acting like our own true selves is feasible when we’re around people who have known us for quite sometime.  we act like dorks in front of our significant others.  husbands fart in front of their kids in the living room and blame it on their wives.  friends do whatever they want with their buddies.  all that good stuff.  you can still be yourself and not cross the line or step on someone’s toes if both parties think on the same wavelength.  but it can also be a gamble trying to be very comfortable without giving the wrong impression. 

did you see that one series of dave chappelle about keeping it real?  yeap, keeping it real will definitely make you lose your j.o.b.  unless you are your own boss.  it’s all of these unwritten rules.  that may explain why we have censorship for the general public.  why?  cause all we see is just the tip of the iceberg.  but trust me, it’s helpful in several ways as well.

i respect that.  it’s true (and very beneficial) for most instances.  but ultimately, we could be ourselves as long as we choose to accept who we are.  still, enigma is what keeps us wondering.  once the truth is out there, the papparrazzi challenge is gone.  of course, the truth will always set us free.  and we can always keep it real if we want to.  i forgot how gene simmons exactly said it on family jewels, but there’s nobody else in the world who can love you more but yourself.  that didn’t sound right.

sunday.  my eyes are hurting and i’m still having a headache from playing gears of war all weekend.  trust me, the next video game i will be playing will be for another 6 months.

people think i’m arrogant.  people think i’m full of myself.  i think i am. – gene simmons

19 Comments on “comfy”

  1. ms_skeptic says:

    to be free to be who you are without repercussion and judgement…wow, what a concept. i can’t speak for anyone else…but no judgement will come from me… 🙂

  2. mooks_dayoo says:

    yea man, finding that balance is pretty tricky. lately i feel like the less i talk, the less trouble i create.

  3. cindee_rella says:

    it’s always been so easy to put on a different face for different people that i sometimes lose who i really am.

  4. yea, i dont wanna be a poser either!

  5. Empyre says:

    and you know, if everyone just decided one day to NOT take advantage of each other and try to live an ACTUAL moral and honest life, then i think finding ourselves would not be such a difficult process. i think about this kind of crap all day every day and i’m only just starting to find answers.i love that animation, though. that’s some serious talent.

  6. korndogg27 says:

    the balance of truth n frontin’.. i will write about that later.. i think ive had done that for a couple times already, its– the same song still.. but experience does play a factor.

  7. Empyre says:

    dude, you have a facist isp! 😉 site works fine and fast for me. it’s basically a nation-wide call for the entire country to go on strike on 9/11 as a call to our government that we want our country back.

  8. decipherme1 says:

    i struggle constantly about that. and i dont know what to do. im myself around those who know me well enough, but around those who dont… i dont know if i should be me.. i love being me, but i guess its the fear of judgment… how are you!?!?!?!?

  9. girl_smileyy says:

    gene simmons is very smart.

  10. Umnenga says:

    Thats why I am loving my thirties because I can just be me

  11. Yeah I agree we have to make sure we are on the same wavelength… not everyone can take a joke I guess… atmosphere controls what we can or cannot say.

  12. Anonymous says:

    i act like myself and people think i am insane…

  13. The only people im truely comfy with are close friends and family. and i dread interviews! =/

  14. thanks for the comment!= )katie

  15. Anonymous says:

    so that means i should give all of my ex’s a chance? since I pretty much hate them all…

  16. Hello R,I like your site that you worked hard to make simple yet elegant. The videos are a nice touch. I see that you have a wide variety of interests and observations here! I like to write articles about God and religion on my site to help people to really get to know God, especially in these troubled times. 14 When the good news about the kingdom has been preached all over the world and told to all nations, the end will come. (Matthew 24:14) (CEV) I hope you get a chance to look at them.

  17. girl_smileyy says:

    ryc: green card marriage? yeah at first i thought so too but i dont know … it seems like too much compromising on my behalf ya know? itd be different if it was a real marriage though.

  18. you will find comfort in your own heart…. anywhere you go… will just do…
    till next time…. take care.

  19. ryc: yea, me and my parties. there’s a big one coming up. cant wait. 🙂
    dude, update your blog!


Leave a Reply

