kitchen economics

i have a big appetite.  well i used to when i was younger.  i could actually eat a horse when i was in my teens and never gain a pound.  i could just imagine my parents scrounging for more groceries because one of their kids could  finish a month’s supply of food in one week.  the frozen pork chops were gone after an evening of hoops, the 12-pack disappeared after garage band practice, the cup-o-noodles lost after an afternoon of video games, canned goods dried up, pastries disintegrated, candies dissipated… the eating ravage, my friends.  the law of supply and demand always reached its tipping point in our household. 

well it wasn’t just me.  consider all 5 siblings gathered round the house with food in it.  but about over 10 years ago, my older brother didn’t have a big appetite anyway, my 2 younger sisters were still babies, and it was between me and my younger brother who tipped the scales of pantry inventory daily.  thus, after years of informal research, my parents decided to turn into generic brands so i would curb my eating frenzy. 

i was lucky i had high metabolism during that time, always active in different kinds of sports, running everyday like my bones never felt anything… restless, if you will.  it helped my body function and take out all the toxins and other unwanted substances like i was taking the water pill everyday. 

and i did. 

when the words and phrases ‘independence, own place, own payments’ and all that jazz started unfolding into my thick skull, the expendable hours were converted into time exchanged for basic necessities.  30 hours of leisure activities went down to 20 or less.  after a series of chemically-induced activities entered into my system, my body realized that it had reached its limit.  my system went into denial, registering short-term elated states into unclaimed baggage around my tummy, inducing my senses to feel more non-existent entities out of thin air, coercing my lungs into breathing thicker mist more whimsical than the air i breathe – yet turning the rest of my limbs into a reel playing in slow motion.  the rest was history, i decided there should be an end to this work in progress.

i still run to date, 7 days a week even though i get shin splints once in a while.  still do weight training, but i have to stretch longer so i could still come back to the gym everyday without injuring myself.  play hoops rarely, wait for summer and fall for “beach” volley, last tennis match was this past november, no more sunday tai chi at golden gate park, the choy li fut referral i sparred with now has over 5 years of experience over me, aeons since i did endless laps at the swimming pool… but life is good.

as they say, it has always been and always will…

for food: i see my fridge like equity.  i expend the least possible resources and still gain the most return of equity without breaking the laws of finance.  i tell myself not to lose the assets if the expenditure is not necessary.  my parents were not the federal reserve when i lived with them; they were like the government (in a good economic way), providing the possible social services whenever the household was in a state of food chain emergency, and i thank them for giving me the freedom to choose responsibly whatever i want.  it will be several years now that i have been visiting them, and they wouldn’t be surprised to see me turn down the next serving because i’ve already reached my limit.  the rule of the fridge is like earning money: you can spend little, hedge the rest, and use the most effective investment vehicle to get the best return of equity for your dollar.  and when you start seeing perpetual residual income, you can spend them over luxuries.

i try to drink 2 jugs of 64-ounce gatorade bottles everyday to replenish my system.  with water inside them, that is.

Leave a Reply

