i wasn’t perfect in the first place.  nobody was.  my dad
first taught me how to carry over when i started adding 2-digit
numbers.  the nerves from my teensy weensy gradeschool fingers
almost hit the fail-safe button in my open slate.  i still
couldn’t handle the numbers that stupendously overloaded my
system.  besides, my old ways with
using the same finger for a different numeral was getting
obsolete.  the moment was one of my first learning experiences for a
child’s crash course in math.  i could also put my money on my
older brother who learned it from the old man before i did. 
evenings have past, and despite me and
my brother tag-teaming against our parents,  our
folks’ tremendous amount of patience and traditional education slowly
faded away from our juvenile unrest.  the conventions actually
faded from the four corners of my mind.  i took advantage of
the micro-management demise with the dexterity of a 7-year old. 
and the 7-year old started being creative, making his own system.
virtually useless or not, they were his own systems.

years passed, more skills were added.  clasroom pounding my brain
layer after layer,
failure after failure, method after method, and all was just about
life. 
after tackling the same time-sensitive conundrums with increasing
boredom, i
started making my own unversed systems and connections amongst feasible
patterns.  it wasn’t just math, it was for all courses.  for
the same similar questions laying on the test
paper, i started memorizing them like a robot.  the others that
needed more analysis i gave more attention to.  henry ford did not
have to know all trivial questions when he had a huge corporate empire
to run.  he hired people more brilliant than him who answered
every antagonizer’s intellectual challenge.  einstein didn’t waste
his time on questions that had answers, he focused on those that hadn’t.

i didn’t realize that i would have this great affinity with patterns
besides my childhood obsession with hamburgers.  i then started
seeing and applying these impressions while observing adult
people.  kids always looked up to adults for reference, and
naturally i did what other kids did to idolize grown individuals. 
rationalizing the way they talked, looking up the first big foreign
words that came out from their grown-up conversations, and most often
than not mimicking their mature actions.  before i tucked the word
‘psychology’ into my vocabulary, there already was a connection between
the occurences that made people tick and the rules of society. 
of course, there were millions of trials and errors on my behalf; but
for some
reason a higher motivation was out there.  and i was looking for
it.

and now i think, like a mere grownup… nothing still comes in.  the patterns of fibonacci
proportions in real life that have come close to 1.618 phi, the ratio
known to greeks as the golden section, the renaissance artists who
called it the divine proportion.  everything virtually has a
pattern, and i wasn’t perfect in the first place.

so as the head honcho c. brown asks: what do seashells, hurricanes, and the dow jones industrial average have in common?

